Podcast – Season 7, Episode 10


Normal service resumes after the Belladrum Festival with a new podcast featuring a great selection of new music from Scotland, England and from over the Atlantic. Have a listen and go send the artists some love. Full playlist below.

While we’ve got your attention, remember that we have a fantastic Netsounds/Mad Hatters gig coming up on 24th September with The Phantom Band.

Click here if viewing on your mobile

Listen to our podcast here
Subscribe on iTunes
Follow on Mixcloud


Painted Zeros – This American Life
Broken Records – So Long, So Late
Moonlands – Years
Foreignfox – Quiet At Home
Kid Mountain – Mindless
Eleanor Nicolson – Out of Towners
The Sea Life – Prozac & Merlot
Michael Cassidy – The Men Who Stood Beside Me In The War
Little Sur – Ache
Skinny Dipper – Hospital Bed

Joctoberfest 2014 – New Additions

More acts have been added to this year’s Jocktoberfests line-up.

The wild west themed festival which promises “Beer, Bands and Bratwurst” takes place at the Black Isle Brewery just outside Inverness on Friday 5th and Saturday 6th September. Red Kites, Garden of Elks, Meeshelle and Hollie Atkinson are among the new additions announced.

Other acts announced so far include:

Little Mill Of Happiness
The Whiskys
Chris Devotion and the Expectations
Garden of Elks
Ashley and the Cosonauts
Michael Cassidy
Red Kites

See below for full current line-up.

Full details including tickets and camping at www.jocktoberfest.com

North Hop Festival

A brand new event for Inverness takes place this weekend with the inaugural North Hop Festival at Eden Court. The North Hop Festival is the brainchild of Michelle Russell and brings together 10 Scottish Craft Breweries, a host of local musicians and the best in Scottish food for the 2 day event. Michelle noticed that Inverness was one of the few places that didn’t have it’s own event to promote the increasing popularity of craft beers and from that, The North Hop was created.

The breweries are bringing a rather impressive range of over 50 beers and ciders to the festival for the lucky punters to sample, with many of of the beers specially brewed for the event. I imagine anyone caught requesting a pint of Tennents will be marched off the premises. However, if beer and cider isn’t your thing then there is also a range of local foods to sample and also a cocktail lounge.

You’re gonna need some music to go alongside all that beer on offer to sample responsibly and so performing at the event will be artists including Lionel, The Oxides, Megan Blyth, James Mackenzie, Sara Bills, Dylan Tierney and Matchstick Maker

A couple of days of beer, music, and food? What’s not to like?

The North Hop Festival takes place at Eden Court on Friday 29th August (4pm – 12am) and Saturday 30th August (12pm – 12am)

Day and weekend tickets available from Eden Court